Meet the team

Honorary Presidents

  • Nguyen Van Thao - The Ambassador of Vietnam

    Honorary President

    Viet Nam’s Ambassador to the UK and received the letter of acceptance from HM Government in September 2014. In 2011, he was appointed as Assistant Minister of Foreign Affairs. Before joining the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Thao was Deputy Secretary General of Viet Nam Chamber of Commerce and Industry (1999-2007).

Executive Committee Members

  • Pham Hoang LONG

    First Secretary (Political) Ambassador's PA Embassy of Vietnam

  • Ben Chapman

    Executive Chairman

    Ben was MP for Wirral South from 1997 until 2010. He set up and chaired the All Party Group for Vietnam and is now Honorary President. He signed the Memorandum of Understanding that governs the relationship between the two parliaments. Ben has been a regular visitor to Vietnam both privately and officially. He is married to Maureen and lives in the Wirral.

  • Warwick Morris

    Vice Chairman

    A British diplomat for 38 years until February 2008, he was Britain's Ambassador to Viet Nam from July 2000 to July 2003. Although retired, he continues to follow developments in and around Viet Nam and supports the bilateral relationship. He was Adviser to Lloyd's Insurance on Viet Nam and Korea 2008 - 2012. From September 2013, Warwick is an External Director of Prudential's Life Insurance business in Viet Nam. In October 2013, he was awarded the Order of Friendship by the President of Viet Nam.

  • Paul Smith

    Vice Chairman

    Executive Chairman of NashTech, part of the Harvey Nash Group plc, Non-Executive Director of FPT Software, a Vietnamese technology business, Board Member of Roehampton University, and a Council Member of UK-ASEAN Business Council. Paul recently received an important award for outstanding services to Viet Nam’s ICT industry, an award for services to Trade and Investment from the Vietnamese government and was appointed ICT Ambassador and advisor to Viet Nam’s software industry.

  • David Priestley

    Committee Member

    David is an international business consultant. Until April 2015 he was Managing Director for Rolls-Royce International for Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos. He was Vice Chairman of the BBGV and Chairman of the Vietnam Integrity Alliance. David has worked internationally for most of his long career with Rolls-Royce in increasingly senior positions.

  • Son Thanh

    Committee Member

    Son Thanh is the President of British Vietnamese Association.

  • Helen Griffiths

    Awards and Scholarships Officer & Committee Member

  • Doug Nicholls

    Committee Member

    Doug Nicholls is General Secretary of the General Federation of Trade Unions and Secretary of Trade Union Friends of Viet Nam. He is a lifelong supporter of Viet Nam and has organised many events over the years to create greater understanding in the UK of Viet Nam. Doug worked to re-establish formal links with the Vietnamese General Confederation of Labour and was awarded their highest award of merit for his efforts.

  • Peter Budd

    Committee Member

    Peter Budd is leader of Arup’s aviation business globally, a Director of Ove Arup & Partners Ltd and Chairman of Arup Scotland.

  • Adrian Munn

    Committee Member

    Adrian Munn is a Partner/Director of Monochrome a digital agency and SME specialising in web applications and UI design. Adrian is a passionate supporter of creativity and innovation in the UK and actively promotes relationships between UK and the Asian region in this sector as a creative ambassador.

  • Anh Hai Nguyen

    Event Officer & Committee Member

    Anh is Co-President of the Vietnamese Professionals Network (Vietpro UK) that provides careers support, skills building and networking events to more than 800 Vietnamese professionals and 10 University Vietnamese Societies in the UK. She is currently working at Royal Bank of Scotland.

  • Lisa Hayward

    Network Treasurer & Committee Member

    Lisa is currently the Compliance Officer of Dragon Capital.

  • Le Thanh Dung

    Committee Member

    Le Thanh Dung is Chief Representative of Vietnam Airlines in the UK.

  • Dr John Callow FRSA

    Committee Member

    A Member of British Viet Nam Friendship Association since 1995, has written and lectured widely on, and in, Viet Nam. The author of 10 books on history & politics, and articles on Ho Chi Minh in Great Britain, he was Director of the Marx Library 2005 - 2013 and is now a National Officer with the GMB trade union.

  • Catherine Clark

    Government Relations Manager & Committee Member

    Catherine joined Prudential in March 2014. Her responsibilities include managing policy, government and multi-lateral relationships across ASEAN and Africa, working closely with teams in the business units across the 14 markets in Asia and four in Africa, plus the regional head offices for both. She also has expertise in UK and international government and policy, in campaigning and thought leadership development, events planning and project management.

  • Matt Jackson

    Committee Member

    Matt leads KPMG in the UK’s High Growth Markets Group with a strong focus on Vietnam as part of the wider ASEAN region. Matt also leads the UK firm’s focus on the Belt & Road Initiative (BRI) where London is a key hub in KPMG’s BRI Global Centre of Excellence. Matt joined the Vietnam-UK Network visit to Vietnam in 2016 and recently attended the APEC Leaders’ Week in Da Nang. KPMG has a long term investment in Vietnam with offices in Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh and Da Nang.